David Oliver Beacon Award

The David Oliver Beacon Award is awarded annually, acknowledging and celebrating those who have made a significant contribution to the MND community.

The award is open to individuals, groups, and organisations that make a positive contribution, improvement, or innovation in MND support or care. Dr David Oliver, an internationally acclaimed physician who has dedicated much of his life to enhancing the quality of life of people with MND through his practice, writing, and teaching, has generously agreed to his name being associated with this award.

Nominations for the 2023 David Oliver Beacon Award are now open.

The criteria for this year's award is:

Recognising and honouring an individual, group, or organisation that makes a positive contribution to providing services, care or innovation in the management and support of people living with motor neurone disease in Aotearoa New Zealand.

In 500 words or less, explain how your nominee has made a positive contribution, improvement, or innovation in motor neurone disease support or care.

Email your submission to by 5pm on Friday 29 September 2023. Please put ‘David Oliver Beacon Award nomination’ in the subject line of your email.

The award will be presented at our Annual Meeting on 25 November 2023.


Current Award Winners

2022: Greg Horton

Former Motor Neurone Disease NZ Council Member and Chair Greg Horton is an incredibly worthy recipient of this award.

The organisation has been fortunate to have Greg as a member for a number of years, and he served as chair until earlier in 2022. During his time with the organisation, Greg has provided pro bono legal expertise and support. He has tirelessly advocated on behalf of MND NZ by introducing key stakeholders to the organization that have resulted in numerous and large donations from generous donors.

Greg's dedication to the organisation is further evidenced by the fact that he stepped back into the organization to serve as the acting Chief Executive Officer on a voluntary basis before Chief Executive Scott Arrol was employed.

Greg Horton Chairperson

Previous Award Winners